PSOC4 breakpoint System not working

A catchall for PSoC Mixed-Signal Array (microcontroller) discussions not captured by the other forums.

Moderator: ericb

PSOC4 breakpoint System not working

Postby psocExperimenter » Thu Jan 23, 2014 3:45 am

Entering breakpoint will never leave it unless You remove it.
Only 3 breakpoints available. You won't get this info anywhere.
Slow clock comparing competitors
Impossible to debug.
psocExperimenter
Cheese Wheel
Cheese Wheel
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:35 am

Re: PSOC4 breakpoint System not working

Postby danadak » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:41 am

The ARM core, M0, supports -

http://infocenter.arm.com/help/index.jsp?topic=/com.arm.doc.ddi0432c/Bcgbfdhc.html

As an aside PSOC 3/5/5LP (if your issue too limiting) -

http://www.cypress.com/?id=4&rID=38581

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: PSOC4 breakpoint System not working

Postby psocExperimenter » Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:16 am

Impossible to debug means also very often lost control over the chip.
Entering new breakpoint seems working during chip runtime.
But only by observing motors moving you figure out, that what PC displays is different what chip is doing.
Plenty of "connection to device lost" messages regardless of communication speed, especially when you hit new breakpoint during chip run.
If someone else don't experience what I'm describing here, means nothing.
Because there is a great difference between the chips within the same family.
If You change body within the same type You born new again.
psocExperimenter
Cheese Wheel
Cheese Wheel
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:35 am

Re: PSOC4 breakpoint System not working

Postby Mr_E » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:37 am

If you have motors connected to your chip, it is very possible you are getting enough induced EMF back to the chip (either via the wires or sometimes even strong magnetic fields) to cause communications loss with the ICE. I have even seen cases where the processor will completely reboot!

You do not tell us which chip you are using, or what is connected to it, so it is impossible for us to help you further. I can tell you from years of experience with the PSOC: although early versions of the debugger/26x chips would lose communications for no reason, the current ICE combined with a 27x or 29x chip stays connected. I strongly suspect external influences on your circuit board.

-Mr_E

P.S. This forum appears to be shutting down soon.
User avatar
Mr_E
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 7:08 am
Website: http://www.microframecorp.com
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: PSOC4 breakpoint System not working

Postby danadak » Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:18 pm

If you have a DSO, or even an analog scope, set up to trigger on a - going pulse,
DC trigger, for say - 1 V, then look at each pin of part to see if you get any triggers.
If you do you have a transient that can cause latch up, or at minimum cause false
logic states inside chip because of charge injection into the chip substrate.

Do the same for a pulse > Vdd + 1 V, positive trigger.

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire


Return to “%s” PSoC1 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest