PSoC 4 - Can I make a programmable Voltage and other queries

A catchall for PSoC Mixed-Signal Array (microcontroller) discussions not captured by the other forums.

Moderator: ericb

PSoC 4 - Can I make a programmable Voltage and other queries

Postby dynamag » Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:54 am

Hi
I am just getting into the PSoC 4 and trying out my first steps on a CY8C4245AXI-483. I see it is good. But....
1. I am trying to implement a variable (programmable) reference voltage for a comparator, since I see that VDACs are not available in this family. Not seeing any other way than pushing out a waveform DAC (file)voltage out a pin and into another pin to send that signal as reference to the comparator. Is this the only way?
2. I cant seem to be able to route the same input pin to two places, like to the ADC as well as a comparator. What am I missing? do I need to use an op-amp component also? Even using an op-amp gave a yellow wire when I tried, though it did not mention any error or notice(warning?)
3. What are those notices that say "The following x pins will be assigned a location by the fitter". I have this with x=5, and the notice is followed by a list of five pins that I thought I had assigned, four analog inputs to the ADC (via Port 2) and one the bypass port (P1.7) that I have assigned to keep my ADC sample rate high. I need to sample at 50KHz, so. I have assigned three more P2.x ports that don't show in this notice.

All your thoughts most welcome.
Regards :)
Shiv
dynamag
Bite-Size Cheese
Bite-Size Cheese

Re: PSoC 4 - Can I make a programmable Voltage and other que

Postby bobmarlowe » Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:09 am

To help you as much as we can, it is always advisable to upload the complete project, so we all can have a look at the settings of the components you use.
To do so, use the "Create Workspace Bundle"function of Creator.