Newbie Tutorial on PSoC Express and DMX Control

This is the forum to discuss the Intelligent Lighting solutions offered by Cypress. The discussion topics include HBLED Drivers, Dimming Technology and Communication Methods.

Moderator: yzr

Newbie Tutorial on PSoC Express and DMX Control

Postby claytor1999 » Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:20 am

I have NO programming experience and would like to understand the major components required to allow DMX512 to interface with PSoC Express. Are there any basic tutorials which give a high level overview of the process? To detail my level of ignorance: what I'd like to know is how to use DMX512 software (like freestyler) to turn on/off my CY3261A-RGB in real time using PSoC express and the I2C-to-USB bridge. I apologize in advance if this question is too lame to be answered... I just want a simple project to understand the basics of PSoC Express and DMX512 and the Cypress components necessary to make it happen. I've read the CY3261A-RGB tutorials included with my board but am still having trouble with the DMX512 portion of the equation.

Thanks
claytor1999

Re: Newbie Tutorial on PSoC Express and DMX Control

Postby slandrum » Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:45 pm

With no programming experience, you are going to have a very tough time with this project.

DMX512 is a lighting sytem protocol with a specified serial communication layer. The serial communication is 250KBaud over RS485. The DMX protocol makes use of break signals, which the PSoC serial modules are not set up well to deal with.
slandrum
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese

Postby yzr » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:49 pm

You may find some useful information from these App Notes at www.cypress.com
AN49187 - UART to DMX Bridge
AN47023 - DMX Rx in EZ-Color Controller