PSOC 4

Discussion of the PSoC Creator Integrated Development Environment for PSoC3 & PSoC5 devices.

Moderator: ericb

PSOC 4

Postby danadak » Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:38 am

A little more info on PSOC 4 -

PSOC 4.jpg


Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: PSOC 4

Postby bobmarlowe » Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:25 am

... and you may pre-order a developement kit here. The kit contains not only a new PSoC4 but an on-board programmer built with a PSoC 5.


Bob
User avatar
bobmarlowe
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:03 am
Location: Germany

Re: PSOC 4

Postby danadak » Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:12 am

Press announcement and product brief here -

http://www.cypress.com/?rid=77780

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: PSOC 4

Postby danadak » Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:53 am

Datasheet -

http://www.cypress.com/?rID=78632

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: PSOC 4

Postby danadak » Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:52 am

TRM is out -

http://www.cypress.com/?rID=78684

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: PSOC 4

Postby Dagodevas » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:40 am

I was super excited about PSoC 4 until I saw how many digital blocks there are. Only 4. That is a quarter of the minimum available on the PSoC 3. I'm assuming it is because the ARM CPU takes up more space than the 8051. It certainly limits the ability to move designs from PSoC 3 to 4. Perhaps they will offer more with the other families, but it certainly looks like it won't be anywhere close to PSoC 3.
User avatar
Dagodevas
Cheese Cube
Cheese Cube
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:47 am
Location: Peyton, CO

Re: PSOC 4

Postby bobmarlowe » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:05 pm

When you look at the pricing of 1$ that's not even close to a PSoC3, too.

Bob
User avatar
bobmarlowe
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:03 am
Location: Germany

Re: PSOC 4

Postby Dagodevas » Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:25 am

Excellent point, I will hold out hope that the higher performance families will have a lot more digital.
User avatar
Dagodevas
Cheese Cube
Cheese Cube
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:47 am
Location: Peyton, CO

Re: PSOC 4

Postby danadak » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:11 pm

Not exactly, you have to look at the device as a whole.
I opened up a 4100 in Creator, created 4 32 bit counters,
timing > 30 Mhz (not sure about this as enable timing,
if used as a F cntr not shown). This was fixed function
not UDB, as there is no UDB in 4100.

32 bit multiplier, not too shabby in a ~ $1 part.

The 12 bit SAR with automated mux/sampling engine front end.
I would bet a lot of DelSig designs that are configed for 16
bits are actually 10 - 12 bits when a total error analysis is
done, over temp.

So I recommend take a closer look, use Creator to play with
it, should lead you quickly to see 4100 can do a lot of stuff
for a $1.

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire


Return to “%s” PSoC Creator (PSoC3 & PSoC5 IDE)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron