Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Questions about programming (not codeing) PSoCs and Encore II as well as freeware programming hardware and software are discussed here. This is also the place to talk about production programming. Programming means loading a HEX file in to the Flash, not, writing your program.

Moderator: ericb

Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby IMustafa » Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:46 am

Can i make a purely analogue switch between gpio pins without routing to any analog block(ADC , DAC ,etc) , just connecting GPIOs in analog way !

Thanks in advance !
IMustafa
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:37 am

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby bobmarlowe » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:34 am

As far as I can see, not in PSoC1. PSoC3 and 5 that would work.

Bob
User avatar
bobmarlowe
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 1490
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:03 am
Location: Germany

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby IMustafa » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:28 am

r u sure ?? Thanks
IMustafa
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:37 am

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby danadak » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:57 pm

If you look at TRM manual for GPIO architecture you see
that analog I/O essentially is a direct path around GPIO
routes, so analog signals cannot get to either Global in
or Global out busses, which are essentially digital busses.
That eliminates a Pin - Buss - Pin interface.

If you want the absolute ultimate authority post a tech case at -

http://www.cypress.com
“Support”
“Technical Support”
“Create a Case”

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby IMustafa » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:51 am

thanks dana, i appreciate that
IMustafa
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:37 am

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby nan358 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:30 am

Hi IMustafa,

Selected PSoC family devices (listed in TRM are CY8C24x94, CY8C21x34, CY8C21x34B, CY7C64215, CY7C603xx, and CYWUSB6953) have analog MUX bus, which allows analog mux between I/O pins.

See 33. IO Analog Multiplexer of the PSoC Technical Reference Manual for details.
analogbus.jpg
analogbus.jpg (154.97 KiB) Viewed 3475 times

Regards,
Nobu
nan358
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:12 am

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby danadak » Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:09 am

@nan358, I stand corrected, interesting.

But there is a fly in the ointment. Would I be correct in saying if I route
a signal from one pin to another, that essentially makes all the CT blocks
unusable on the columns supported by that net (referring to case of split net,
or if not split the whole mux buss net). In other words if you want a CT block
to NOT have as its input the signal you are routing pin to pin, you cannot do
that on the same net of the mux buss ?

So you potentially lose functionality, either temporary or permanent, when you
choose to dedicate mux buss to a pass thru route ? Further if in column your
SC blocks are fed by CT block they too would become non usable ?

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby nan358 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:49 am

Hi Dana,

Analog input config of the device having analog mux is detailed in 20.1.2 Two Column Analog Input Configuration and 24. Two Column Limited Analog.
It looks like CT blocks can be fed input signal from either analog mux bus or port input mux, which may leave some possibility for CT blocks to be useful when analog mux bus is occupied for other purpose.

Regards,
Nobu
nan358
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:12 am

Re: Possibility of making analog switch on PSOC

Postby danadak » Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:03 am

Sure does look like general enough routing for most situations.

Almost points to the need for a good in-depth training video. Or maybe I
should read the TRM cover to cover like a good student :mrgreen: Not that
I would remember most of what I read.......so sad..... :(

Thanks Nobu.

Regards, Dana.
Field Application Engineer
KB1RHB Mostly listen :)
Semi Retired
User avatar
danadak
The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:42 am
Location: New Hampshire


Return to “%s” Device Programmers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest